Mt Cook Alpine Salmon’s National Sales Manager Te Tane Trinick has been recognised as a “Seafood Star" by Seafood New Zealand.

Te Tane (download photo) and Adam Clow (download photo) of Whitianga were the joint recipients of the inaugural Seafood Stars Awards Young Achiever Award at a function in Wellington tonight.

Te Tane Trinick, has demonstrated a strong commitment to the seafood industry’s future through various roles within the industry, says Seafood New Zealand’s Chief Executive Tim Pankhurst.

Te Tane’s interest in aquaculture and sustainable seafood sources began at an early age fishing and diving on the East Coast and going on to complete a Bachelor of Science, majoring in aquaculture.

Te Tane’s talents were recognised in 2010 when he was selected by Te Ohu Kaimoana and Japanese seafood company Nissui for a year-long scholarship in Japan.

“That investment paid off with Te Tane returning to New Zealand to work for Sealord, Foodstuffs and FMCG and now as National Sales Manager for Mt Cook Alpine Salmon who say Te Tane is proving to be an impressive advocate, not only for Mt Cook Alpine Salmon, but for everything New Zealand seafood has to offer, “ Tim Pankhurst says.

“Every day in fishing communities around the country thousands of people go to work to contribute to our $1.8 billion export industry whether it’s putting to sea in our inshore fisheries, working away from home in our deepwater fisheries, working on salmon and mussel farms, or onshore processing and marketing our products.

“The awards reward innovation and excellence within our industry and recognise the contribution our diverse workforce makes to this important industry and their commitment to its ongoing sustainability.

“There are thousands of stars in our industry. Tonight we are recognising five of them.”

The Seafood Stars Awards are part of the industry’s celebrations to mark the 30th anniversary of the fisheries Quota Management System with awards for excellence and innovation within the industry.

In addition to the Young Achievers Award the following awards were made:

Longstanding Service Award Winners

Doug Saunders-Loder (Motueka)

Rob Pooley (Marlborough)

Seafood Innovations - Sustainability Award Winner

Dave Kellian (Warkworth)