Thirteen of the industry's star achievers announced as final nominees for inaugural Seafood Stars Awards

Thirteen of the industry's star achievers are in the running to be presented with the inaugural Seafood Stars Awards at the New Zealand Seafood Industry Conference this year.

The awards are a great way to reward innovation and excellence within our dynamic industry and tell stories about our premium seafood, our people and our ongoing commitment to sustainability. It is especially fitting that we celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Quota Management System by rewarding our industry's achievements. Award winners will be announced during the ANZ Cocktail Function at the New Zealand Seafood Industry Conference on Wednesday, August 31.

The final nominees selected across the three award categories are:

Longstanding Service Award    

Doug Saunders-Loder  

NZ Federation of Commercial Fishermen

Rob Pooley 

Marine Farming Association

Phillip Clow 

Whitianga/Coromandel Peninsula Commercial Fishermen’s Association

Donna Wells 

Finestkind Ltd

Seafood Innovations - Sustainability Award    

Richard Wells 

Resource Wise

Brian Kiddie 

Bay of Plenty Fishermen’s Association

Dr David Middleton 

Trident Systems

Scott Murray

Mt Cook Alpine Salmon

Dave Kellian 

Leigh Commercial Fishermen’s Association 

Young Achiever Award    

Adam Clow  

Southern Cross Fishing

Oliver Wilson 

Trident Systems

Tom Searle 

Leigh Fisheries

Te Tane Trinick 

Mt Cook Alpine Salmon